Food Information

Living with Gluten Intolerance and Celiac Disease:

Section Legend:

*** Not Gluten Free

*** Gluten Free

Grains NOT allowed ***

Avoid all foods and drinks containing the following:

  • Wheat
    • Durum
    • Einkorn
    • Emmer
    • Kamut
    • Spelt
    • Graham
    • Bulgur
    • Farro
    • Farina
    • Wheat berries
    • Bromated Flour
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale — a cross between wheat and rye
  • Malt – germinated and dried cereal grain 
  • Oats Unless it is labeled gluten-free (Oats are naturally gluten free BUT may be cross contaminated during production with wheat, barley or rye)


Processed foods that often CONTAIN GLUTEN ***

In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
  • Breads
  • Bulgur wheat
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Communion wafers
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Malt, malt flavoring and other malt products (barley)
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Hot dogs and processed lunchmeats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat)
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups, bouillon or soup mixes
  • Vegetables in sauce


Gluten Free Foods ***

Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet:

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Beans, seeds, legumes (such as peas) and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms
  • Eggs
  • Lean, non-processed meats:
    • red meat (fresh beef, pork, lamb, bison)
    • poultry (fresh chicken, turkey)
  • Seafood (fresh fish, scallops, shellfish)
  • Most low-fat dairy products
  • Traditional soy foods (tofu, tempeh, edamame, etc.) NOT Soy Souce

Grains, starches or flours that can be part of a gluten-free diet include:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn (also known as Maize) — cornmeal, grits and polenta labeled gluten-free
  • Maize Starch
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours — rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice, including wild rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca (cassava root)
  • Teff

Also Gluten Free:  ***

  • Coconut oil
  • French mustard
  • Honey
  • Horseradish
  • Jam
  • Gelatin and Jellies
  • Olive oil
  • Rice pudding
  • Sesame oil
  • Syrup – (Glucose syrup) 
  • Cider, Wine, Port, Potato Vodka (YES Cider is Gluten Free. Click here for more information.)
  • Sodas / fizzy drinks e.g. Coca-cola, Pepsi, lemonade


For a larger list of Gluten Free Food / Items, click here.

Always Read the Labels 🙂

Make sure to always read the labels. Although a product may be manufactured using Naturally Gluten Free ingredients, there may still be a possibility for Cross Contamination. Read the ‘May contain‘ section, usually in bold.

Gluten Free Living in Malta

Up ↑